Legal Advice re Tokens

Hi Andy and FL community,

I am a seasoned lawyer from the US back to school in the Netherlands getting an Advanced Masters in Digital Technology law. My thesis is on DAO governance/regulation. I am copying below the section of my thesis that is pertinent to this project. It is still a draft but has good information for you to consider now as I understand you want to publish this white paper soon. I am happy to address any questions on this as best I can. I am no expert in DAO governance (yet) but am willing to do the research to help us all figure this out! Currently my paper only covers US, but soon will be updated to cover EU/UK and Asia as well.

A copy of this with proper footnotes/references can be found at the following link, and you may comment on this google doc as well:

Without further ado, here is the relevant portion of my thesis so far:

Regulation of DAOs

DAOs are formed by individuals who seek to escape from the jurisdiction of any centralized government, and thus by their very nature are elusive to regulation. However, this section will explore ways in which traditional centralized government structures may regulate DAOs, and conversely, what steps a DAO may take in order to proactively avoid such centralized government regulation.

Security/Exchange

DAOs often dispense or exchange tokens similar to cryptocurrency in various different forms and methods as a way to track reputation, incentivize users, encourage action, and/or distribute ownership amongst the community. Generally, cryptocurrencies that are intended as investments are viewed as “securities” and thus heavily regulated throughout the world. Therefore, DAOs seeking to avoid regulation would also need to be cognizant of various centralized governments’ legal approaches in defining what exactly is a “security” or an “exchange” in order to avoid being deemed as either and thus open to much more regulation, scrutiny, and potential shareholder litigation.