Hackathon 20th and 21st Oct 2018 - Main Thread

Welcome, I’m soo pleased you came!

Let’s begin by introducing ourselves and if we have any specific skills, or just here full of enthusiasm and a kind heart!

I’m Andy, founder of the Focallocal Public Happiness community, and i began the Brighter Tomorrow Map build 2.5 years ago, and the rebuild in React after the tragedy of learning Blaze was likely to become unsupported a year ago. Now we’re finally here again, on the brink and ready to launch this tool into the world to bring a little peace and hope into the lives of many desperately in need of a brighter life.

I am a project manager, and only have a vague understanding of React and servers, so while i’m here to support everyone i won’t be able to help with in depth technical questions or tasks.

Hello! I’m Kay. I’ve worked on various projects large and small. Implementing change and new ways of working are some of the areas I’ve worked on and helping people adapt. I have managed social media for businesses and charities also.
Would love to help in any way I can as sounds like a great heart warming project!

K x

1 Like

Thank you @Kay. Unsurprisingly you are the 1st one here (thank you for pointing out the forum was not allowing signups). We have a few devs active on our Slack getting as much done in the build up as possible.

It sounds like your skills could be perfect for preparing/leading a social media campaign on the day to get people posting free resources, and things they can offer onto the map.

Hi! I’m Vignesh.

I am still a student Dev - in college - but I think I can be of great help. I have strong skills in React and various other tech as seen on my portfolio site. I work primarily in a MERN stack, but can make my way around anything node/react based.

https://vigneshjoglekar.com

I have worked with a few open source organizations and it has always been super fun - I look forward to helping out on this project!

1 Like